FDC Série Personalities 2017
FDC Série Personalities 2017
2.50€
Product Options
Quantity

Description

Jean Jules Linden was a botanist of mixed Luxembourg and Belgian nationality. He is seen as one of the “fathers” of orchid research. At times he travelled with the famous researcher Alexander von Humboldt and during his trips, lasting around ten years in total, he sent a whole series of hitherto unknown plants back to Europe. In 1851 he made his way to Brussels, where he founded the horticultural society “L’Horticole Coloniale”. In Ghent and Brussels he built greenhouses and the famous “Promenade des Anglais” in Nice was laid out using palms cultivated by Linden.

Pierre Frieden was a Luxembourg Christian Social politician and author. He studied philosophy and literature in Luxembourg, Switzerland and Germany. During World War II, he was temporary imprisoned in the concentration camp of Hinzert. Following the liberation of Luxembourg in 1944, Frieden joined the cabinet of Prime Minister Pierre Dupong as Minister for Education, Culture and Science. In 1958, Frieden was elected Prime Minister of Luxembourg, but died after just one year in office, at the age of 66.

Tony Bourg was a literary scholar and lecturer. He chose Romance studies and classical philology in Luxembourg and France. Tony Bourg initially wrote cultural chronicles before specialising in the analysis of foreign authors, primarily French authors such as Albert Camus. However, Tony Bourg’s main interest lay in the connections of French-speaking intellectuals and authors with Luxembourg. To mark the centenary of the visit of Victor Hugo to Vianden, he organised the complete renovation of the “Maison de Victor Hugo” in the town, establishing later the “Musée littéraire Victor Hugo”.
 

Daniela Longo created the designs for the three portraits. The Italian artist works on a regular basis for the Vatican’s Philatelic and Numismatic Office. She also specialises in creating medals and decorations for the Vatican.

  • 2017
  • Personalities
  • Per unit

Discover also

FDC Pierre Werner
FDC Pierre Werner
Price: 1,00€
More Information
FDC Serie Personalities 2014
FDC Serie Personalities 2014
Price: 2,20€
More Information
FDC Serie Personalities 2015
FDC Serie Personalities 2015
Price: 2,20€
More Information
FDC Serie Personalities 2016
FDC Serie Personalities 2016
Price: 2,50€
More Information

Discover our news

Discover our news

FDC Série Personnalités 2017
FDC Série Personnalités 2017
2.50€
Options du produits
Quantité

Description

Jean Jules Linden était un botaniste belgo-luxembourgeois et considéré comme l’un des « pères » de la recherche sur les orchidées. Il voyagea pendant un temps avec le célèbre chercheur Alexander von Humboldt et pendant ses expéditions il envoyait régulièrement en Europe toute une série de plantes jusqu’alors inconnues. En 1851, son chemin le conduisit à Bruxelles, où il fonda la société « L’Horticole Coloniale ». Il fit construire des serres à Gand et Bruxelles et la Promenade des Anglais de Nice fut agrémentée de palmiers issus de sa pépinière.

Pierre Frieden était un écrivain et homme politique chrétien-social. Il effectua des études de philosophie et de littérature au Luxembourg, en Suisse et en Allemagne. Pendant la guerre, Pierre Frieden fut interné au camp de concentration de Hinzert. Après la libération du Luxembourg, en 1944, il fut nommé Ministre de l‘Éducation, de la Culture et des Sciences dans le gouvernement de Pierre Dupong. En 1958, Frieden fut élu Premier ministre du Luxembourg, mais il mourut déjà un an après, à l‘âge de 66 ans. Les textes conçus par Pierre Frieden constituaient des réflexions en allemand et en français sur l‘Europe et sur l‘humanisme.

Tony Bourg était historien, critique et conférencier littéraire. Il fit des études de lettres françaises et latines au Luxembourg et en France. Tony Bourg écrivit d’abord des chroniques culturelles et se spécialisa ensuite dans l’analyse d’écrivains étrangers, principalement français, comme Albert Camus. Il s’intéressa surtout aux relations qu’entretenaient, avec le Luxembourg, des intellectuels et écrivains francophones. À l’occasion du centième anniversaire du séjour de Victor Hugo à Vianden, Tony Bourg  organisa la rénovation complète de la Maison de Victor Hugo à Vianden qui est devenu ultérieurement le Musée littéraire Victor Hugo.
 

Les esquisses utilisées pour les trois portraits sont signées Daniela Longo. Cette artiste italienne travaille régulièrement pour le Bureau philatélique du Vatican. Elle est en outre spécialisée dans la réalisation de médailles et d’ordres pour le Vatican.

  • 2017
  • Personnalités
  • A l'unité

Découvrez également

Enveloppe-souvenir Treveris 2018
Enveloppe-souvenir Treveris 2018
Prix: 2,00€
En savoir plus
FDC - 100 ans du deces de Dominique Lang
FDC - 100 ans du deces de Dominique Lang
Prix: 1,10€
En savoir plus
FDC 700 ans deces Henri VII
FDC 700 ans deces Henri VII
Prix: 1,50€
En savoir plus
FDC BLOC 150 ans John Herkul Grun
FDC BLOC 150 ans John Herkul Grun
Prix: 1,35€
En savoir plus

Découvrez nos actualités

Découvrez nos actualités