FDC Special series - Army 2017
FDC Special series - Army 2017
2.05€
Product Options
Quantity

Description

Since the law to abolish compulsory military service and introduce voluntary military service entered into force on 29 June 1967, more than 8,350 volunteer soldiers have served in the Luxembourg Army.

Voluntary military service has also been open to young women since 1987 and a law passed in 2002 opened up voluntary military service also to citizens of European Union member states.

The Luxembourg Army regularly takes part in peacekeeping missions under the auspices of the United Nations, NATO and the European Union. In this capacity, 2,000 Luxembourgish servicemen have contributed to missions in the Balkans, Afghanistan, Lebanon and on the continent of Africa.

The Luxembourg Military Band was founded on 29 December 1842 following the creation of an infantry battalion garrisoned at Echternach. In 1847, Luxembourg established a second infantry battalion, which was also accompanied by a military band.

At the time of its creation, the military band was known as the “Hornistenkorps” and was made up of between 25 and 29 musicians. 175 years later, the “Hornistenkorps” has evolved into a professional orchestra of Luxembourgish musicians. Placed under the direct authority of the Chief of Staff, the Luxembourg Military Band is made up of some sixty professional musicians.

The orchestra also regularly performs for the Grand-Ducal Court, during state visits, official visits and also leads official ceremonies or formal dinners.

  • 2017
  • Monarchy
  • Per unit

Discover also

FDC 60 years Grand-Duchess Maria Teresa
FDC 60 years Grand-Duchess Maria Teresa
Price: 1,80€
More Information
FDC DYNASTY 2010
FDC DYNASTY 2010
Price: 1,90€
More Information
FDC Royal Engagement
FDC Royal Engagement
Price: 1,00€
More Information
FDC Serie Grand Duke Henri 2015
FDC Serie Grand Duke Henri 2015
Price: 2,95€
More Information

Discover our news

Discover our news

FDC SERIE SPECIALE - Armée 2017
FDC SERIE SPECIALE - Armée 2017
2.05€
Options du produits
Quantité

Description

Depuis l‘entrée en vigueur de la loi du 29 juin 1967 abolissant le service militaire obligatoire et introduisant le volontariat, plus de 8350 soldats se sont engagés au sein de l‘Armée luxembourgeoise.

A partir de 1987, le service militaire volontaire est devenu accessible aux jeunes femmes et en 2002 aux ressortissants des Etats membres de l‘Union européenne.

L‘Armée luxembourgeoise participe régulièrement à des opérations pour le maintien de la paix sous l’égide des Nations Unies, de l’OTAN et de l’Union européenne. 2000 militaires luxembourgeois ont ainsi contribué à des missions dans les Balkans, en Afghanistan, au Liban et sur le continent africain.

La Musique militaire grand-ducale a été fondée le 29 décembre 1842 avec la création d’un bataillon de chasseurs à pied en garnison à Echternach. En 1847, le Luxembourg instaura un deuxième bataillon de chasseurs à pied, qui lui aussi fut accompagné par une musique militaire.

Lors de sa création, la Musique militaire portait le nom de
« Hornistenkorps » et comptait un effectif de 25 à 29 musiciens. 175 ans plus tard, le « Hornistenkorps » s’est transformé en un orchestre professionnel composé de musiciens luxembourgeois. Placée sous l’autorité directe du Chef d’Etat-Major, la Musique militaire est constituée d’une soixantaine de musiciens professionnels.

L’orchestre assure ainsi régulièrement des prestations pour la Cour Grand-Ducale, lors de visites d’Etat, pour des séances académiques ou des dîners officiels.

Découvrez également

FDC EUROPA 2015
FDC EUROPA 2015
Prix: 1,85€
En savoir plus
FDC EUROPA 2016
FDC EUROPA 2016
Prix: 1,85€
En savoir plus
FDC EUROPA 2018
FDC EUROPA 2018
Prix: 2,05€
En savoir plus
FDC EUROPA 2019 - oiseaux
FDC EUROPA 2019 - oiseaux
Prix: 2,25€
En savoir plus

Découvrez nos actualités

Découvrez nos actualités