FDC Serie Grand Duke Henri 2015
FDC Serie Grand Duke Henri 2015
2.95€
Product Options
Quantity

Description

POST Luxembourg is issuing a new series of postage stamps in honour of the 60th birthday of His Royal Highness the Grand Duke in April 2015.

Appointed as Lieutenant Representative of His Royal Highness Grand Duke Jean on March 4, 1998, he has been the Grand Duke of Luxembourg, since his accession to the throne on October 7, 2000.

Military formation and studies

After his schooling in Luxembourg and France, where he successfully passed his "baccalauréat", Prince Henri enrolled at the Royal Military Academy, Sandhurst in Britain where in 1975 he was awarded the rank of officer. Later, he took courses at the University of Geneva (Switzerland), where he obtained a Bachelor of Political Science.


Family and social commitment

On 14 February 1981, HRH Prince Henri, at that time the Hereditary Grand Duke, married Maria Teresa Mestre. Their Royal Highnesses the Grand Duke and Grand Duchess have four sons, one daughter and three grandchildren.

The Grand Duke has undertaken numerous prospection trips to five continents to promote the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg as a land of business and investment opportunities, functions that have been taken over by HRH Prince Guillaume, Hereditary Grand Duke of Luxembourg. The Grand Duke is a member of the International Olympic Committee and of the Board of the Grand Duke and Grand Duchess Foundation. As a keen advocate of nature protection, the Grand Duke is the high patron of the Nature and Environment Foundation "natur&ëmwelt".


The artist

Martin Morck 

It all started when he was 18 and in art school in Gothenburg. His father who was both an artist and a philatelist pointed out that postage-stamp engraver was indeed a profession. Martin Morck wrote a letter to the Swedish post and asked if he could spend a year as an apprentice and he got the job.

Up until today he has designed or engraved around 800 stamps and a big number of banknotes.

When he was asked to design the new stamp bearing the effigy of HRH the Grand Duke, he was very honoured! He found his inspiration through perfect photos of the Grand Duke taken by Christian Aschman.

  • 2015
  • Monarchy
  • Per unit

Discover also

FDC Royal Engagement
FDC Royal Engagement
Price: 1,00€
More Information
FDC Serie Patriotique 2014
FDC Serie Patriotique 2014
Price: 1,60€
More Information
FDC SHEETLET GRAND DUCAL FAMILY
FDC SHEETLET GRAND DUCAL FAMILY
Price: 3,40€
More Information
FDC Sheetlet Royal Engagment
FDC Sheetlet Royal Engagment
Price: 1,85€
More Information

Discover our news

Discover our news

FDC Serie Grossherzog Henri 2015
FDC Serie Grossherzog Henri 2015
2.95€
Produktoptionen
Menge

Beschreibung

Großherzog Henri feiert im April 2015 seinen 60. Geburtstag. Aus diesem Anlass beginnt POST Luxembourg eine neue Briefmarkendauerserie mit dem Abbild des Staatschefs.

Am 4. März 1998 wurde Henri von Großherzog Jean zum „Lieutenant-Représentant" (Stellvertreter) ernannt. Er ist Großherzog von Luxemburg seit seiner Thronbesteigung am 7. Oktober 2000.

Militärausbildung und Studium

Nach dem Sekundarunterricht in Luxemburg und in Frankreich, den er dort mit dem Abitur erfolgreich abschließt, geht Prinz Henri an die Königliche Militärakademie nach Sandhurst, Großbritannien, wo er 1975 den Offizierstitel verleit bekommt. Später besucht er die Universität von Genf (Schweiz), wo er eine Lizenz in Politikwissenschaften erhält.


Familie und soziales Engagement

Am 14. Februar 1981 hat S.K.H. Prinz Henri damals Erbgroßherzog Fräulein Maria Teresa Mestre geheiratet. Sie haben 4 Söhne und eine Tochter und drei Enkelkinder.

Der Großherzog hat zahlreiche Erkundungsreisen auf allen fünf Kontinenten zur Förderung und Entwicklung des Wirtschaftstandortes Luxemburg unternommen, eine Funktion die der Erbgroßherzog Guillaume heute übernommen hat. Der Großherzog ist auch Mitglied des Internationalen Olympischen Komitees und des Verwaltungsrates der Stiftung des Großherzogs und der Großherzogin. Durch sein großes interesse am Umweltschutz hat der Großherzog unter anderem auch die Schirmherrschaft der Stiftung „natur&ëmwelt" übernommen.


Künstlerporträt

Martin Morck 

Alles begann in der Kunstschule in Göteborg, als Martin Morck gerade 18 Jahre alt war. Sein Vater, Künstler und Philatelist, erzählte ihm, dass man als Briefmarkenstecher beruflich durchaus tätig sein konnte. Also schrieb er einen Brief an die schwedische Post und bekam dort eine einjährige Lehrstelle.

Bis heute hat er um die 800 Briefmarken und eine große Anzahl von Banknoten entworfen oder gestochen.

Als man ihn fragte, die neue luxemburgische Briefmarke mit dem Portrait des Großherzogs zu gestalten, war er sehr geehrt. Fotos des Großherzogs von Christian Aschman dienten ihm als Basis für seine Arbeit.

  • 2015
  • Monarchie
  • Pro Stück

Entdecken Sie auch

FDC 15 Jahre Thronbesteigung Grhzg Henri
FDC 15 Jahre Thronbesteigung Grhzg Henri
Preis: 1,10€
Siehe mehr
FDC 60 Jahre Grossherzogin Maria Teresa
FDC 60 Jahre Grossherzogin Maria Teresa
Preis: 1,80€
Siehe mehr
FDC BLOCK GROSSHERZOGLICHE FAMILIE
FDC BLOCK GROSSHERZOGLICHE FAMILIE
Preis: 3,40€
Siehe mehr
FDC Block Prinzliche Verlobung
FDC Block Prinzliche Verlobung
Preis: 1,85€
Siehe mehr

Entdecken Sie unsere Aktuelles

Entdecken Sie unsere Aktuelles